State: Virginia Product: Comcast Internet Service Clear all filters (28 of 765 reviews match)
filters
State:
City:
Show
Product:

Comcast in Arlington, Virginia - Horrible Experience

Short Version: - Service first started on 7/23/12, Service did not work until 9/18/12 - Original install resulted on follow up appointment to fix cable issue - Resulted in 8 more rescheduled appointments - Promises given to me of crediting my bill once the issue has been repaired - After issue was resolved, was told that my issue was a "special request appointment" and that it is not creditable. Long Version: My service started on July 23rd of this year. My girlfriend and I live in a small apartment in Northern Virginia. We signed up for the Blast Plus promotion going on in this area for 49.99/month for the first 6 months. We get the initial technician visit where he installs the modem and cable box. We are unable cable working but internet works decently (cuts in and out enough to be inconvenient). The technician despite trying three different cable boxes still thinks its the cable box. We schedule a 2nd technician to come out with a different box... surprise his didn't work either. He checks the wire signal and notices a really poor signal. (We live on the 18th floor, so signal loss is normal. However the amount lost was much higher than normal). So now that the issue was figured out we scheduled a tech to come out to look at the wire and fix it. We schedule with my apartment complex to check various units underneath us to locate the issue in the wire. Despite people taking off work to be there for it, the tech never showed up. I then proceeded to reschedule. Next tech shows up at the rescheduled date with a cable box. He asks me what the problem is to which I responded: "The issue is in the post-wire, we had a tech scheduled to come fix it and he never showed up. You were supposed to fix it.". His response was well let me check the signal.. He checks the signal, determines it's low (no really?) and tells me its the power coming from the tap in my apartments cable room. I reschedule.. (Current visits from Comcast: 5, including no show) Comcast (or comcast's contractor) comes out and checks power coming from tap, readings are normal. Tells me that it's the post wire and the post-wire people need to be scheduled to come out. I reschedule (6). At this point it's been one month. I call customer service requesting that my bill be credited in fear that if I pay my bills my issue will never be fixed. After speaking with 3-4 different people I finally managed to get that done for me. (Great, finally some customer service). However my bill due date changed from the 23rd of August to the 10th of September... odd... So the "post-wire" guy shows up without scheduling with my apartment complex. He shows up at my door and he's not even a post-wire guy, he has no idea what hes supposed to be doing. He starts off with "So your cable hasn't been working right?" I tell him no, tell him the story, etc. He decides to check my signal strength... tells me I need a post-wire guy. Yes... yes I know. I'm starting to learn Comcast terminology at this point. If I lose my job and apply at Comcast I probably won't need to go through any training. We reschedule (7) and a post-wire guy comes out (FINALLY) but he wasn't scheduled with the apartment. This guy was actually a pretty good tech. He checked the readings just to be sure, he told me that he's gonna personally make sure my issue gets fixed because he must have felt bad for me. This was a relief, he really went above and beyond what he needed to do as a Comcast tech. However, I needed to reschedule (8). The next time, it was the same guy that showed up from before. I actually called Comcast twice to remind them they need to schedule with my complex that a tech is coming. Surprisingly they never scheduled so when he got here he couldn't do anything. (Note: I am not able to schedule Comcast's job for them with my complex.. I tried). He personally went and talked to the manager of the building and got it scheduled. Like I said, this guy was good. Reschedule. (9) The same guy showed up again, this time was able to find the issue in 10 mins and fix the wire. Cable works! (9/18/12) However, I needed to change my box from the DTA to an HD box where I needed to personally travel to the comcast center and pick it up. So now it's time for the grand finale. I call Comcast customer service up so that I can get my bill all sorted out, get credited for all this time I didn't have service and move on. Post-wire repairs are called "special request" visits (Or something of that nature). When I spoke with the customer service agent she told me that I was unable to be credited for my service because "Special requests" are not creditable. This was the first time in this entire almost 2 month period that I got frustrated on the phone. You mean to tell me after all of this you're going to make me pay for it as though I had service this entire time? According to the rep I spoke with, my service was working back on August 24th (when I was credited for the first month). So the person who credited me orignally must have marked that my service was completed (which I strictly stated was not) But wait, it gets better! I look at my bill more intently to see that my service changed. I no longer had the 49.99/month promotional offer. I had a $35 cable and $20 internet package which I never consented to. So as of right now my bill is 21 days overdue (but september 10th isn't 21 days ago.... Yeah I know) I am not paying my bill at all until I know that my time spent dealing with this awful service will be credited. You are not stealing my money Comcast. Thank you for reading my story.
View full review
Review
#346582 Review #346582 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service
Loss
$130
I called Comcast to move my service. I wanted it turned on a week early at the new house on the same day as all the other utilities so I could use it as soon as I got a TV or computer over there. I set the disconnect date at the old house for exactly one week later. I...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#1088422

I solely believe that their movers edge online form is a phantom request. It literally goes no where and that your confirmation number is just the ticket number of the number of people sitting in the waiting room to *** called comcast customer service.

I completed the form. No call, no email not even to that joke of an email account. Did it again the day I set for the original just to observe the behavior, confirmation number and nothing else. Where does this freaking go?

Do online requests go to freaking purgatory?

There will one day be a revolution. This service is absolutely terrible

View more comments
Review
#342069 Review #342069 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service

Comcast in Blackstone, Virginia - Witholding my refund

Comcast provided us with receiver and remote, and internet devices to connect online with their bundled cable/internet service. We had their equipment for 3 years and the internet service box had to be replaced >6 times and everytime they say somebody gave you a defective box ( how many somebody do they have?) We moved after 3 years and switched to sattelite services. All of comcast's equipment have been returned and we have receipts to prove that. That was in March of this year. It's now July and they keep saying we'll get our money back. We asked to talk to a supervisor- they had the gall to say they don't have as supervisor at their main offive in Charlottesville, VA. Yeah, right!!
View full review
Review
#332196 Review #332196 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service
Loss
$200

Comcast - Not Telling the Truth

We lived in an apartment for a year and had the slowest internet only from Comcast. The "promotion price" was $34.71 per month including the $7.00 modem fee and taxes. The Comcast representative said that after six months the amount will go up $9.99 per month. After six months the bill sky rocketed to $70.53!! I called Comcast, was put on hold many times, passed around and frustrated. They said, I was mistaken but they were willing to take $10.00 off my bill. No mistake on my behalf, the conversation was accurately in my notes.
View full review
Review
#310358 Review #310358 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service

Comcast in Fairfax, Virginia - Billing price more than twice quoted price

My husband just received his bill from Comcast for Internet and phone service. It was almost $300, much more than twice the price he was quoted on the phone. Comcast did the exact same thing to me a year ago, so I warned my husband to take notes. He did, and they quoted him the same prices they quoted me a year ago: $25/month for the first six months, then $45/month for the next six months. But he was billed for $60/month plus an $80 install charge plus a $35 activation fee, plus charges for two modems he did not ask for nor receive. How do we get a government agency to look into this? When you take an additional two hours of your time to get through their automated phone system and argue with them, they apologize and explain that their computer won't let them adjust the amount. The customer should pay the extra $100 to $200 dollars and expect a reduced bill sometime in the future. This is highly dishonest and probably illegal. Comblast has been doing this to their customers for years: * They quote a low price to get you to sign up with them. * They bill customers more than twice the quoted price. * They force customers to pay 3 to 4 months in advance, making money off of our money.
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#526875

I was quoted an installation fee of $40 by TWO different Comcast reps. The installer also said Comcast WILL honor what they quoted me. I just got the bill and the installation fee was $145!

I need to find out how to contact the Better Business Bureau in the Northern Colorado area, but cannot find a telephone number for them.

Anonymous
#495020

I fought Comcast online CS for two weeks over a jacked up Bill and "free" promotional services that they would not honor. Finally I took the order confirmation and bill to the local Comcast/Xfinity office and they removed all of the extra charges and got my bill and services all back to what I had signed up for.

PLUS the kind lady gave me a 5% store discount, upgraded me with 80 additional channels, doubled my internet speed and gave me a free months service. And she warned me to NEVER order services and Never contact online CS.....only work with the local Comcast/Infinity Stores in person if at all possible.

Good advice! It's like working with a totally different company!

deb41rn
#462945

I definitely FEEL YOUR PAIN;!! Similar situation when I changed to new AT&T U-Verse and internet service.

There has to be a way to take legal action because these companies are dishonest and out and out liars on the phone. They will promise anything and everything to get consumers to change. It is a pain to go back and change back and THEY know it.

Most likely we try to work things out. Is there a legal action we can take.We need to band together and demand fairness.

View more comments (2)
Review
#307673 Review #307673 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service

Comcast in Manassas, Virginia - Service interuption

Missed the Grammy's 2012 as all my comcast services (cable, phone and internet) were out all evening. When we called the recording said they were experiencing some service interruptions and were working on it and then they hung up on us. When I called tonight, as on demand and the guide were still not working, there was a twenty minute wait on the phone so I went online to chat on line with a service rep. I asked when Comcast was going to replay the Grammys for all of us who missed it, because we had no service, she said to check my guide. My guide is not working!!!!! Anyway she did get my guide fixed and my on demand, but still no grammys. This is SOOOOOOOOOOOOO typical of them. It gets very frustrating time and time again.
View full review
Review
#296798 Review #296798 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service

Comcast in Arlington, Virginia - Internet and phone don't work way too often

It is time for us to lead a consumer revolt against Comcast. My phone and Internet are out at least once a week. I have had enough. I am trying to get someone at The Washington Post to do an article, but until then, I have a suggestion: FOR EVERY DAY YOUR SERVICE IS OUT, DEDUCT THAT DAY FROM YOUR BILL WHEN YOU PAY IT. NOTE ON THE BILL THAT IT IS A DEDUCTION FOR LACK OF SERVICE. If hundreds of thousands of us do this, there aren't enough collection agencies in the country to handle the volume. Do it. Keep track of when your service is out, even for an hour, and deduct that day from your bill. We have to hit this mutil-billion-dollar company where it will matter...in its wallet. I'm starting today, August 26, 2011, in Bethesda, MD.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#353648

Do it, let it go to collections, have no service because they disconnect you for non pay and screw up your credit. Mass exodus and going to a competitor will effect them much more than deducting days without service - your approach is childish at best, but on the right track.

Review
#257956 Review #257956 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service

COMCAST won't solve customer problems.

Signed up for COMCAST Triple play. Had it installed. That evening neither TV nor phone would work. Called COMCAST and spent some time on phone before co. rep. said a tech would have to come the next day. I would be called. Next day (6/29) no one called so I called on my cell phone. First 5 calls was disconnected by COMCAST phone system. On 6th call reached an agent in Texas who couldn't find me in system. Gave me a bad area number to call. Then spent an hour with online chat accomplishing nothing. Then called again, talked to an agent who told me my phone was fine (I still couldn't get a ring tone). Asked for a supervisor and was promised one would call me within 30 minutes. Guaranteed! Now two hours later, no call. COMCAST is great at selling and promising but their service is awful. A whole day wasted for nothing which sums up their attitude towards customers. We are worthless!
View full review
Review
#246095 Review #246095 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service

Comcast in Alexandria, Virginia - An Irate Consumer's Protest

I sent the following e-mail to Brian Roberts, Comcast CEO, today. I encourage all fellow pissed-off customers to do likewise. Dear Mr. Roberts, I don't assume for a moment that you will personally read this e-mail, but hope that at least one of your personal assistants will. I have just suspended payment, effective May 25, 2011, on the Internet portion of my Comcast monthly billing statement, after having been unable for at least three years to prevail on Comcast to adjust the signal to my cable modem to a level that will provide the consistent, reliable, uninterrupted, high-speed Internet service for which I have been paying Comcast an ever-increasing monthly premium. My multiple complaints to the Comcast 800-line and many service calls to my residence by Comcast technicians have failed to resolve the problem with the Comcast signal to my modem. Prior to making such calls, I confirmed the problem with the Comcast signal on almost every occasion by running tests to the Visualware "MySpeed" test server in Dulles, VA. In innumerable instances, often several times during the same week, I have been unable to access the Internet or conduct reliable, intelligible phone conversations via VOIP. In several cases, the test server was unable to detect the upload signal at all, which explains why I my VOIP service was sometimes interrupted for hours and I had to rely on my mobile phone (at extra cost) to communicate. Even when the Comcast signal was strong enough to be detected by the Visualware test server, these tests have consistently indicated the following problems: MSDL01: The download speed is too low for the latency/bandwidth of the connection MSTR01: The data flow for this test is too erratic MSMD01: TCP is waiting too long for data MSTR02: The trip time for this connection is too erratic I have maintained copies of these test results for the record and made them available to Comcast technicians who were interested in looking at them; most were not. The technicians who visited my home claimed, in most cases, that they were not able to find a problem with my signal; however, in two or three instances, they admitted that the signal needed to be adjusted. In two cases, most recently on March 29, 2011, Comcast claimed that the problem had been referred to "Maintenance" for resolution, yet it has recurred again and again. I have spoken by phone with two different Comcast supervisors, who would not reveal their names I (the ID# of the first who called me, I believe, in February of this year, was 157 or 147), and have been assured that the problem would be addressed, without results. On May 15, 2011, during the last such call, the gentleman agreed to issue a one-month credit for the Internet service portion of my statement, after I had informed him of my intent to suspend payment of that portion. I told him that that was not sufficient compensation for the years of intermittent and unreliable Internet service that I had to tolerate because of Comcast's monopoly on broadband service in my area. My service remains unreliable and intermittent to this date. I am calling this matter to your attention because I am considering the possibility of initiating a class-action law suit against Comcast for non-performance of service, unless I receive the reliable high-speed Internet service Comcast promises. Sincerely, HHB
View full review
5 comments
cohena2
#374651

You do realize that you like all other Comcast internet customers are on a grid and the more customers on your grid the slower your internet connection will be. But then again you're an IT professional and probably already knew that.

Also as long as you're able to connect to the internet then Comcast has done its job. It is not their responsibility to make sure your voice over IP works.

Thats your responsibility. Quit whining like a d@mn baby.

Anonymous
#374007

XFAILITY/COMCRAP. I worked at the Lynnwood, WA call center where a fat sup named Kim Edwards sent email telling to work off the clock without pay.

We were fired when we complained to HR, but Kim (who is on her 4th husband) still works there.

We are going to win a class action lawsuit against them. call retention dept and ask for discounts/promos.

Anonymous
#371047

MSMD01: TCP is waiting too long for data

I have the same problem and I pay $69.99 a month for this so-called high speed internet, They are ripping everyone off.

Anonymous
#315872

I hate Comcast worse that I do Barack Obama.

I had 4 service calls scheduled with Comcast and they were a no show all 4 times. They suck!

Anonymous
#290506

Give me his e-mail address so I can do the same . My service sucks.

View more comments (4)
Review
#238820 Review #238820 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service
I called comcast due to Internet issues . No service. They sent a Tech that installed a new router. After he left I had no service. I work from home so again i called and the next Tech wZ wonderful. He put in a New router and the tech said it was a bad box. It happens....
View full review
1 comment
Me
#331762

The insurance is a small fee that keeps you from paying the $60 truck roll fee. It actually cost a little over $77 to roll a truck to your home for 15 minutes.

The router although it may belong to Comcast is a complementary item for the end user to set up and maintain. Comcast does not support wireless connections unless you have paid the wireless install fee. AT&T charges near twice that to replace or work on a standard phone jack.

There insurance "linbacker" is 4 times Comcast wire protection plan monthly fee. They gave you a free service call fixed your issue yet the complaint is still posted???

Review
#228149 Review #228149 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Comcast Internet Service
Loss
$30